WRAP-UP APRIL | Feelin’ Lazy

WrapUp

Can’t believe how fast April has come and go, I feel like it was yesterday when I was writing the wrap-up of march.
I can’t write reviews as often as I would like, so here are the books I’ve read this month and a short comment about it.
Summer is still tanning my skin and making me wish I lived in Antarctic.

The Moth & the Flame (The Wrath & the Dawn, #0.25)

I wrote a review of this short story, about two of the characters that I love the most on this story.
Despina and Jalal, they’re so perfect for each other. Can’t wait to know what will happen with them when I read The Rose & The Dagger.

Maybe Someday (Maybe, #1)

My love for Colleen Hoover’s books is as new as her last novel. I can’t believe I’ve waited so long to read them. But I’m doing it slowly, taking my time to recover after each book hangover. ‘Cause none lets you a book hangover as Hoover does.

 

Maybe Not (Maybe, #1.5)
And because I was feeling masochistic, I read Maybe Not as soon as I finished Maybe Someday. This novella tells the story of the roommates of Ridge and Sydney. This strange couple that is doing everything backwards.

 

Paper Princess (The Royals, #1)
I thought I was doing something risky reading this book, because it’s been so long from the last time I’ve read a new author. And Paper Princess was the debut novel of Erin Watt. Turns out she wasn’t a new author but the mix of two authors that I’ve read before.
And the mix, God… they’re such a amazing duo. They will conquer the world with this series. I’m sure about that.

 

The Crown (The Selection, #5)
I won’t said so much about this one, ’cause I’ll be posting a review on May 3rd. Just you wait!

 

It looks like I haven’t been reading much this month. But so many good things are happening in my life right now. That I don’t have time to read like I used before.

Tell me, have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned?

#Review(+18) SIDEBARRED by Emma Chase

Emma Chase has written a novella of her Legal Briefs Series!

Keep reading to know what it is about

Sidebarred (The Legal Briefs, #3.5)Sidebarred
A Legal Briefs Novella #3.5
by Emma Chase
Published on April 24, 2016
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Rating:4stars
Steamy Level:4chilis

There was a time when Jake Becker had it all together. He was controlled, driven, ruthless—in and out of the courtroom.

Then, six irresistible orphans and their heartbreakingly beautiful aunt crashed into his perfectly ordered life. They changed everything. They changed him. Now he’s a husband, an upstanding member of society, a father figure—a family man. And he’s pretty damn good at it.

Sure, he has to referee sibling smackdowns, re-learn algebra, ensure his clients stay of jail, and keep his wife happy—but it finally feels like he’s got it together again….

So, of course something has to screw it all up. It’s huge. Life-changing. Kind of terrifying.

And it will be the most amazing, perfect thing he’ll ever do.

 

c5c40-amazon_kindle_logo-svg

The most funny and lovable characters.

I met Emma Chase -through her books -when she first wrote Tangled. And her POV of Drew Evans was the best thing I had read until that moment. I’ve followed her since then.

It surprised me to know that she published a novella about her most sweet characters, the McQuaid’s children. And don’t forget her aunt Chelsea and her hot step-uncle Jake. This kids changed his life in Sustained and life didn’t stop there.

This nine-chapters story takes place two years after the wedding of Chelsea and Jake and after so many happy changes their life are about to take an unexpected turn.

Seriously, guys. I can’t say more about Sidebarred ’cause I don’t want to spoil you the story.  You only need to know that Chase’s character are, as always, the most funny and lovable characters. you’ll find in Contemporary Romance books.

For fans of Katy Evans, Jennifer Probst and Kristen Proby.

 

About the Author

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEmma Chase lives in New Jersey with her husband, two children and two misbehaving (but really cute) dogs. She has a long standing love/hate relationship with caffeine.

Emma is an avid reader. Before her children were born she was known to consume whole books in a single day. Writing has also always been a passion and with the 2013 release of her debut romantic comedy, Tangled, the ability to now call herself an author is nothing less than a dream come true.

Waiting on Wednesday – April 27 | Do Not Spoil My Reading

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted at Breaking the Spine. The purpose is to spotlight upcoming releases that we are excited for.

 

PenguinTeen just published this video on youtube in where Renee Ahdieh, the author of the bestselling novel The Wrath & The Dawn, share 10 things about her debut YA Series.
I was so happy when I loaded the video,  but then the last thing blew me away.

 

It was worst than a spoiler, but it wasn’t one.

 

Dear, Renee Ahdieh
I do love your first book, but I was happy not knowing that. It was worse
than you telling me the end of the book. Now I would read The Rose & The Dagger
knowing that,  and it won’t be the same that reading it in blissfull ignorance. 
I’ll be aware of every twist in the plot and won’t enjoyed because now I’m so sad.
I just hope for you to be so kind and not do that again.
Love, 
Lizzie

 

Besides all that I can’t wait to read TR&TD. It was published yesterday, but I won’t have it until my last amazon order arrive to my home.
The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath & the Dawn, #2)

 

If you are too curious for your own good watch the video…

Renee Ahdieh Shares 10 Things You Need to Know About THE WRATH AND THE DAWN!

I have problems loading the video on the post… just go through the link and watch it on youtube.

See you on the other side of the war…
(I’m so obsessed with Hamilton)

#Review LADY MIDNIGHT by Cassandra Clare

MY MOST EXPECTED BOOK OF MARCH

lady-midnight-release-banner

I needed to collect my thoughts before I write this review. This was such a amazing book not only because the writer is amazing in what she does, but because SHADOWHUNTERS WORLD brings so many good memories of my begginings as a reader.

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)

Lady Midnight
A The Dark Artifices Novel, Book One
by Cassandra Clare
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books
on March 8, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Rating:4stars(4.5)
Steamy Level:3chilis
7a2ae-ad1b9-goodreads-button

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare.

amazonlogo (1)

 

Will Keep You on Your Toes

“There is a reason you can’t fall in love with your parabatai, Emma. And when you find out what it is, you will feel the cruelty of the Shadowhunters, just as I have.”

After the War five years ago. (The Mortal Instruments). Emma has been training to become the best shadowhunter. Her desire to be the best is strongly linked to her need to find the murder of her parents.

She and her parabatai, Jules, follow every clue they find.

Recently, fairies have been murdered and her corpses were marked with the same marks Emma saw in her mom and dad. It seems that finally Emma has a legit clue but since the War is against the law to help any fairy.

That’s the reason why Jules half brothers were banished to the artic(Helena) and never rescued (Mark).

Trying to find who have killed those fairies might be the only way to find who was the real murder of her parents but Emma might not like what trues she found on this journey.

Cassie’s fans have been craving from this book from the moment she announced it, two years ago. I was one of them.

We all know that the main plot in this series is how Emma and Jules will fight against what they feel for each other.

“What would you have done differently?”
“I don’t know if I would wanted a parabatai.”
“Do you actually mean that? You wouldn’t have wanted it? This, with me.”

If you haven’t read any shadowhunter’s book don’t worry, you won’t have to if you want to read LADY MIDNIGHT. You won’t understand all the jokes but you won’t feel lost in the story.

Now, what I loved most of this book.

Ty Blackthorn

She remembered Emma saying in passing that Ty go upset whe his routine was interrupted.

 

Over the years, Julian had come to understand why Ty didn’t like looking into other people’s eyes.

 

Ty said nothing. His hands were still fluttering in their repetitive movements.

 

We both see the same world, but in a different way. Ty feel the same joy I do, the joy of creation. We feel all the same things, only the shapes of our feelings are differents.

I fell in love with all the Blackthorns but specially with Tiberius.

I like how Cassandra introduces a memorable and special character. Because think about it, how high are the probabilities that with seven Blackthorns one of the is autistic?

Pretty high.

Previous Series

If you are nostalgic because the other series have ended, don’t be. Cassie knows what her readers love and she give us a glimpse of each one of them.

Over the years she’d added several useful runes to the Gray Book – one for breathing underwater, another for running long distances, and a rather controversial one for birth control that had nevertheless quickly become the most often used rune in the lexico.

Clary is nuts.

This book will keep you on your toes. With amazing main characters, funny and excited moments with a little for everyone’s taste.

Captura

 

 

About the Author

150038

Cassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts.