City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson | review

I can truly said I’m a different reader from three years ago. Lizzie from 2014 wouldn’t have imagined the kind of books she would read at twenty two.

33956433
City of Saints and Thieves
by Natalie C. Anderson
Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books
on January 24th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary, Mistery

In the shadows of Sangui City, there lives a girl who doesn’t exist. After fleeing the Congo as refugees, Tina and her mother arrived in Kenya looking for the chance to build a new life and home. Her mother quickly found work as a maid for a prominent family, headed by Roland Greyhill, one of the city’s most respected business leaders. But Tina soon learns that the Greyhill fortune was made from a life of corruption and crime. So when her mother is found shot to death in Mr. Greyhill’s personal study, she knows exactly who’s behind it.With revenge always on her mind, Tina spends the next four years surviving on the streets alone, working as a master thief for the Goondas, Sangui City’s local gang. It’s a job for the Goondas that finally brings Tina back to the Greyhill estate, giving her the chance for vengeance she’s been waiting for. But as soon as she steps inside the lavish home, she’s overtaken by the pain of old wounds and the pull of past friendships, setting into motion a dangerous cascade of events that could, at any moment, cost Tina her life. But finally uncovering the incredible truth about who killed her mother—and why—keeps her holding on in this fast-paced nail-biting thriller.

My rating

4_star

I enjoy diversity in books, that doesn’t mean I dislike authors who prefer to write only the things they know or follow the hype or what is trendy right now. But I’m finding so much pleasure in reading books placed in another countries, with so many different characters and exotic plot settings. I’m looking forward to read more “own-voices” novels as well.

I want to say that is the reason why I read this book so quickly or picked it up in the first place. It is not. I knew nothing about the plot. What made me purchase it all those weeks ago was the cover, so beautifully designed.. I didn’t like the two sentences I read from the synopsis. I never like the kind of synopsis that start with a comparison between the book and previous bestsellers or famous novels.

And even when CoSaT isn’t the next YA Gone Girl, it is a great novel that borrows the cruel and poignant stories of so many refugees from Congo to bring us a compelling novel about sisterhood, sacrifice and fear. Introducing us to a new culture and a new reality for so many out there.

There were some gaps, yes. This story wasn’t perfect but just remember that this is a fictional world based in true stories and the author can take some liberties with her work, so even when I didn’t understand some of her decisions or I have so many unanswered question i like this book so much that I want to share my love for it with you guys.

Leave a comment:

