Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo | review

When the world owed you nothing, you demanded something for it anyway.

22299763

Crooked Kingdom
by Leigh Bardugo
Six of Crows Duology, Book 2
Published by Orion Children’s Books
on September 27th, 2016
Genre: Fantasy, YA

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn—and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

Review of Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crows Duology, Book 2)

I haven’t felt the need to write a review as hard as I do for Crooked Kingdom, and it’s a pity I can’t remember if I ever wrote the review of Six of Crows in this blog.

You can always go through this link to my goodreads review, but to sumarize it, I loved SoC.

I finished Crooked Kingdom (CK), just twenty minutes ago, as you can see by the publication date I wasn’t in a hurry to read it, the main reason being that this was it. There won’t more about Kaz nor Inej nor Mathias, CK would be the end of my favourite underrated squad. And I’d be a sad and ugly mess, I just wasn’t mentally ready for that.

I fell in love with the six of them in SoC, with all the diversity and singularity, with the world-development and with Bardugo’s writing and style.

And in CK, I was constantly amazed by the finness and accuracy in which the conclusion was narrated. So many ups and downs and so much happening at the same time. It has everything I always wanted in YA fantasy in the exact proportions I didn’t know I need it.

Never forget that Bardugo’s ulterior motive is to cause pain to her readers, even when she wraps it in such a beautiful envelope. She will go for your heart without second-guessing herself. But it will be worth it, all the suffering and ache, will be worth it.

This book was read in three formats: e-book, audiobook and harcover edition.

5_star

Leave a comment:

