TV SERIES FOR BOOK NERDS | discussion

If you love books as much as I do, you’ll probably love this two series that are NOT based on novels but can certainly be related to some of the most famous authors of the moment.

Because a good movie or tv series doesn’t need to be a book first.

THIS IS US created by Dan Fogelman, premiered on NBC on September 20, 2016. It’s an amazing story about a group of people that were born the same day, some of them are siblings and other not but their lives are intertwined. And that’s all I’m planning to tell you right now. This series has the vibe of almost every romance contemporary bestseller novel that’s been published in the last two years. The angst, the family problems, the love and the pain.

I’m not finished with TIU, I’m planning a marathon after my finals in July so I can cry to my heart content without worrying about bags under my eyes the next morning.

SENSE8 is pretty amazing. It was created my the same creators of Matrix another sci-fi success and produced by Netflix. It has the diverstiy we’re craving so much in YA and NA novels, a great critic to a flawed system. It follows the story of 8 sensates, a group of people from different ethnicities that are connected to each other through their minds, they share the knowledge and memories of each one of them and the goverment wants to use them as tools from their own purpose. Pretty epic right?

Such a shame the series was cancelled due to budget problems, but nevertheless the two seasons are worth watching.

It kind of reminds me of Nalini Singh’s series Psy-changeling, but not exactly. Mostly because in both stories are a group of people connected through their minds and both stories are pretty exciting.

I’m hoping this list will grow with time, I’d like to add some k-dramas  (tv series made in South Korea) that I believe are masterpieces but I’m not sure you’d be intereste, please let me know in the comments.

 

 

4 thoughts on “TV SERIES FOR BOOK NERDS | discussion

Leave a comment:

