POP SUGAR READING CHALLENGE HALF-YEAR UPDATE

Capture

So, it’s been awhile.

The popsugar page hasn’t been updated in weeks but before I tell you which categories I’ve completed let me share with you how I’m doing this challenge so far.

How I read?

I don’t tend to find a book for each category, because my reading queue has no order, sometimes a book can jump right to the first place and it becomes my priority or in other cases I stop reading a book half way through it and not pick it back up until weeks later if ever.

So what I do is, for every book I read, I try to find a category that describes the best said book.

It works for me, so I’ll keep doing it.

POP SUGAR READING CHALLENGE

A book recommended by a librarian
Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery
(Contemporary) 4stars
A sweet story about a orphan girl searching for a place to call home.

A book that’s been on your TBR for way too long
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
(Paranormal Romance) 3.5stars
The second and finally time I read it, I loved it.

A Audiobook
Crooked Kingdome by Leigh Bardugo (Fantasy YA) 5 stars
This book is narrated by more than six narrators. It is AMAZING.

A book by a person of color
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
(Contemporary Romance) 5stars
The author is indian, a beautiful brown girl.

A book with one of the four seasons on the title
Devil in Spring by Lisa Kleypas
(Historical Romance) 5stars
My queen of HR finally wrote a book about the son of her best character.

A book by an author who uses a pseudonym
I don’t by Ella Fox
(Contemporary Romance) 2stars
A good name but not her real one.

A bestseller from a gender you don’t normally read
milk and honey by rupi kaur
(poetry) 5stars
I loved this short and overwhelming book.

A book by or about a person who has a disability
Things I Should Have Known by Clarie LaZebnik
(Contemporary Romance) 4stars
Ivy is autistic and never been kissed.

A book that is published in 2017
Lucian Divine by Renee Carlino (Paranormal Romance)  4.5 stars
Published January 9th 2017

A book involving a mythical creature
A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
(Fantasy NA) 4stars
Faeries are mythicals, aren’t they?

A book you have read before but never fails to make you smile
Nobody’s Baby But Mine by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
 (Contemporary Romance) 4.3 stars
Jane and Cal. Just thinking about them makes me immensely happy.

A book with a red spine
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Contemporary YA) 5stars
This book is about the Black Lives Matter movement

A book you loved as a child
The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (Children’s book) 5stars
A little boy leaves the safety of his home to travel the universe.

A book by an author from a country you’ve never visited
Always and Forever Lara Jean by Jenny Han
(Contemporary Romance) 4stars
Whether the author is american or korean I know none of those countries.

A book where the main character is a different ethnicity than you
Spindle by E. K. Jonhston
(Fantasy) 3.5stars
It might be fantasy but its setting is Middle East

A book about a interesting woman
Marry Me Tomorrow by Carla Burgess (Contemporary Romance) 3.5 stars
Emily is a sweet redhead woman a bit crazy.

The first book in a series you haven’t read before
Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh
(Fantasy) 3.5stars
So many shape-shifters in this series.

ADVANCE PART

A bestseller from 2016 (re-read)
A Court of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas (Fantasy) +5stars
ALL THE FEELINGS.

A book about a inmigrant or a refugee
Citi of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson (Thriller) 3.5stars

The setting of this book is Kenya. What an amazing read.

A book with a eccentric character
Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare (Urban Fantasy) 5stars
Leave it to Clare to create the most eccentric characters aka Magnus

So many good books in this list.

Now that I have a clearer picture of all the prompts I need to read in the last half of the year, I would do a little research to find the best options for me.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment:

